Foundation

The Founder - Message from the Chairwoman - Historical Background - Vision and Values - Projects Realized (pdf) - Organizational Chart - Partners
 
     
 

Historical Background

Founded in 1995, the BMCE Bank Foundation was assigned, in compliance with the vision of its founder, Mr. Othman Benjelloun, two missions: promotion of education for disadvantaged children in rural areas and the preservation of the environment.

In response to the Royal Appeal for mobilization in favor of education, and aware of the crucial role education plays in Morocco’s development and assuming its share of social responsibility as an active player in the private sector and society, the BMCE Bank engaged through its Foundation to promote an innovative educational concept. Such concept integrates education with sustainable development and the improvement of education quality. The BMCE Bank Foundation thus launched its program to build and equip Medersat.com schools in rural areas. This initiative’s ultimate goal is to improve the standard of living of underprivileged populations.

During the closing session of the Mediterranean Forum for Development held in Marrakech in September 1998, Mr. Othman Benjelloun, President and CEO of BMCE Bank Group, reiterated the BMCE Bank Foundation’s commitment to sustained action for Education and the Environment.

“Prevailing social responsibilities in Morocco are in fact those of all citizens and enterprises with a sense of citizenship. We, at BMCE Bank, have chosen to bring a tangible contribution specifically in the field of illiteracy reduction in rural areas (…).

We are convinced that our initiative will stimulate other such initiatives within the business community and members of society at large.”

The launching of the Medersat.com program illustrates perfectly such commitment.

The generic name of the Foundation’s program generic:

“Medersat.com” refers to the prestigious historical roots of Medersas and to the Mediterranean as the birthplace of knowledge and civilization. It also evokes the rural school’s (ER in French) vocation, the connection to satellites and to the world of IT, hence the “.com”, and lastly the benefit shared by the village community of teachers, parents and children.

Fondation

Le fondateur - Message de Mme la Présidente - Historique - Vision et Valeurs - Réalisations (pdf) - Organigramme - Partenaires
 
     
 

Historique

Créée en 1995, la Fondation BMCE s’est assignée, conformément aux orientations de son Fondateur M. Othman Benjelloun, Président du Groupe BMCE Bank , deux missions principales: la promotion de l’éducation en milieu rural au profit des enfants démunis et la préservation de l’environnement.

Ainsi, en réponse à l’Appel Royal pour la mobilisation en faveur de l’éducation, consciente du rôle crucial de l’Education dans le développement du Maroc et assumant sa part de responsabilité sociale en tant qu'acteur actif du secteur privé et de la société civile, BMCE Bank s’est engagée à travers sa fondation à contribuer à la promotion d’un concept novateur d’éducation intégrée au développement durable et à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’enseignement. A cet effet, la Fondation BMCE Bank a lancé son programme de construction et d'équipement des unités scolaires Medersat.com en milieu rural. Le but ultime de cette action est de contribuer à l’amélioration du niveau de vie des populations défavorisées.

M. Othman Benjelloun, Président Directeur Général du Groupe BMCE Bank, a réitéré l’engagement de la Fondation BMCE Bank en faveur d’une action soutenue pour l’Education et l’Environnement au cours de la séance de clôture du Forum Méditerranéen pour le Développement qui s’est tenu à Marrakech en septembre 1998.

« Les responsabilités sociales prévalant au Maroc sont en fait celles de toute entreprise citoyenne et de tout citoyen. Pour notre part, à la BMCE Bank, nous avons choisi d’apporter une contribution tangible plus particulièrement à la lutte contre l’analphabétisme en milieu rural (…).

Nous sommes convaincus que notre initiative en suscitera d’autres similaires parmi les communautés d’affaires et les membres de la société civile». Le lancement du programme Medersat.com constitue l’illustration « par excellence » de cet engagement.

Nom Générique du programme de la Fondation: « Medersat.com » évoque les racines historiques prestigieuses des Medersa, le berceau du savoir et de la civilisation qu’est la Méditerranée. Il évoque également la vocation de l’école rurale (ER), la connexion aux satellites et au monde des nouvelles technologies de la communication d’où la signature « .com » et enfin le bien partagé de la communauté villageoise, des éducateurs, des parents et des enfants.